hflclogo.JPG (4485 bytes)

THE HOMES FOR LIFE COALITION
OF HOWARD COUNTY, MARYLAND

Resources


General Help:

Easter Seals. 410-277-0940. www.gwbr.easterseals.com  Home modification recommendations.

Maryland State Department of Education Division of Rehabilitation Services 410-554-9208, 888-200-7117. www.dors.state.md.us  Home modification services.

Maryland Technology Assistance Program.  1-800-832-4827. www.mdtap.org  Information on home modification vendors and on grant and loan programs.

US Department of Veterans Affairs. 1-800-827-1000. www.homeloans.va.gov/sah.htm  Home modification benefits for eligible veterans.

Volunteers in Medical Engineering.  410-243-7495. www.vmesolutions.org Custom design of new products and modification of existing devices to improve independence of individuals with disabilities or the elderly.


 

Help for Seniors:

Maryland Access Point of Howard County.  410-313-5980. 1-800-506-5806. www.horizonhelp.org  Information about services, including home modification programs, for seniors living in Howard County.

Reverse Mortgage. 866-264-4466. www.reversemortgage.org  Reverse mortgage information.

US Department of Agriculture, Rural Development. 301-797-0500, ext. 4. www.usda.gov Repair grants to eligible elderly.


 

Websites:

 

AARP: www.aarp.org/universalhome

 

Able Data: www.abledata.com

 

Accessible Housing Services: www.accessiblehousingservices.com/universaldesignmodel/html

 

Adaptive Environments: www.adaptenv.org

 

The American Occupational Therapy Association:  www.aota.org

 

The Center for Inclusive Design and Environmental Access: www.ap.buffalo.edu/idea

 

The Center for Universal Design:  design.ncsu.edu/cud

 

Concrete Change: www.concretechange.org

 

Future Home: www.thefuturehome.net

 

Livable Homes: www.livablehomes.org

 

National Association of Home Builders: www.nahb.org/caps

 

National Association of the Remodeling Industry: www.nari.org

 

National Resource Center on Supportive Housing and Home Modifications: www.homemods.org

 

Universal Design Alliance: http://www.universaldesign.org

 

USA TechGuide: http://www.usatechguide.org/techguide.php


Home | About Us | Visitability and Universal Design | Resources and Publications | Upcoming Events | Featured Article | Highlights from the Day